Monday, 1 December 2008

Miah Persson - Mozart opera and concert arias

Miah Persson: Un moto di gioia. Mozart opera and concert arias. Sebastian Weigle conducts the Swedish Chamber Orchestra. Released 2006. Further information here.

Considered she is a classical lyric Mozart soprano, Swedish soprano Miah Persson´s (born app. 1970) rise to fame has come relatively late, career breaking performances being the Salzburg 2003 Rosenkavalier and the London 2006 Nozze di Figaro, both released on DVD. She is currently on a rapid rise to become perhaps the pre-eminent lyric Mozart soprano of today, specializing primarily in Mozart.

The upcoming summer she will repeat her Glyndebourne Fiordiligi at the Salzburg Festival and next season will see her Metropolitan Opera debut as Sophie in Rosenkavalier.

This Mozart disc clearly shows that Miah Perssons success is not primarily based on her great looks and acting: She is quite simply a great Mozart singer. Stylish, but most of all charming and lively, but still with plenty of character and punch. With the effortless coloratura always integrated in the music interpretation and never put on display.

The opera selections are from Cosí fan tutte (Come scoglio), Nozze di Figaro (Deh vieni and Un moto di gioia) as well as Zaide and Mitridate, the rest being concert arias including Ch´io mi scordi di te? and Exultate, jubilate.

A great disc. Highly recommended.

The bottom line (scale of 1-5, 3=average):


No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...